16 Mantras for Bad OCD Days

Today’s task for the 31DBBB challenge is to write a list post.  I decided to make a list of things that anyone with OCD should remind himself or herself of every day.  These are things that could be written on post-it notes and places strategically around the house.  If you have OCD, considering printing this list and reading it daily or whenever it seems like OCD is winning.  It’s not a comprehensive list by any means, but it includes the basics to get you through each day.

  • Don’t beat yourself up.
  • Imperfection is acceptable.  Life is imperfect!
  • It’s ok to have bad days.  They’re inevitable.
  • Don’t beat yourself up.
  • Baby steps are more effective than giant leaps.
  • Trying to quit cold turkey will only increase your anxiety and stress.
  • Don’t beat yourself up.
  • You are not alone.
  • Don’t be afraid to ask for help.  Support makes everything easier.
  • Don’t beat yourself up!
  • Be patient with yourself.  It’s often two steps forward, one step back.
  • Focus on your progress, not your regress.
  • Don’t beat yourself up!
  • Avoiding fears makes them grow.  Facing fears makes them shrink.
  • Try cognitive behavior therapy before opting for a prescription.  Meds may not be necessary.
  • Don’t beat yourself up!

Yes, I know there is a lot of repetition in that list and I know there aren’t actually 16 separate points, but it’s purposeful.  If you’re like me, hearing these things once just won’t do it for you.  I am still trying to hammer these ideas into my brain (and I’m sure you can tell which point is the hardest for me to get).

Anything you’d like to add?

6 thoughts on “16 Mantras for Bad OCD Days

  1. i think “dont beat yourself up” is my favorite off that list. guilt is so huge for me as im sure for many with ocd and i tend to blame myself a lot. good list. i like your blog! very cool and brave of you to write it!

    1. Thanks! “Don’t beat yourself up” is something I have to tell myself daily and I still don’t get it most of the time. I am way too hard on myself.

Leave a Reply

