Resonate

I’m behind on this blog challenge.  Don’t get me wrong.  I am really, really, really loving it.  I am learning so much about blogging and having a lot of fun improving my blog, but I am already worn out!  It’s so much work and takes so much time!  I am determined to catch up, though!  Today, I’m going to do yesterday’s task: Write a Link Post.  This is actually something that I want to do on a regular basis.  I’m not sure how regular yet.  We’ll see how it goes.

I have really been enjoying reading other OCD blogs.  I have them listed over on the left side of my blog, but I’d like to take today to feature some of their posts that have resonated with me.

I love following this first blog.  Fellow OCD Sufferer of OCD Reflections frequently writes posts that give her readers a glimpse of how an OCD mind works.  I always get a kick out of following her thought processes because they are so similar to mine (What if… then this happens… and what if.. and what if…I should do this and this and this even though it’s completely unreasonable).

Some OCD symptoms have obvious fixes (for contamination, get dirty and resist washing), but others are more abstract and harder to treat (pure obsessions).  In this post, Blogger with OCD of When “Better Safe Than Sorry” is a Lie explores the question of how to deal with OCD and grey areas.  This is definitely something I worry (read: obsess) about and worry (read: obsess) that it won’t be treatable.  I also love this blogger’s post that explains the blog’s title, because it’s so true.  OCD loves to whisper “Your hands might be dirty.  Go wash them.  Better safe than sorry!  Your door might be unlocked.  Go check it.  Better safe than sorry!” in our ears and I have always given into those suggestions.  Now, after 22 years of believing “better safe than sorry”, I am having to stop and say “No, that’s a load of bull!”

This post on My OCD Diary helped me understand yet another of my frustrating quirks that can be blamed on OCD.  It’s about OCD and indecision.  I’m sure anyone with OCD can relate to being unable or taking unnecessarily long to make a decision (You wouldn’t want to make the wrong one, after all.  Better safe than sorry!).

Elle of Magpie Minutes writes about having OCD as a child and how that manifested.  She discusses being unable to step on cracks.  I nodded my head frequently while reading this post because I still have trouble stepping on cracks (though not as much as when I was a kid).

Kristen (of VH1’s the OCD Project) has a a blog: Fighting for my Free Spirit.  This post had me nodding and laughing the whole time.  She equates OCD to a squawking parrot and celebrates being able to walk past sanitizing products at Target.

There are other great OCD blogs, but I’ll keep the list short for today (mostly because it seems like my life lately consists of work and blogging and I haven’t worked out in more than a week).

21 thoughts on “Resonate

  1. Hello! You were ahead of me today (or yesterday) for Day 7 on the blog challenge. I am a little behind too, so I am right there with you!

    I like list post, it introduces me to info I normally would not find. Thanks for sharing your list!

    Good luck in the challenge!

  2. I’m visiting from SITS Girls. I’ve known a couple of people in the past with OCD when there weren’t all the internet sources for support. I’m glad to see that finding support can be found now.

    1. When I was originally diagnosed, I had no idea that there were other people out there like me. I mean, I was young, so that’s part of why it didn’t occur to me, but I also had never met anyone with OCD before, especially since most people with OCD tend to hide it from others. The internet has been a wonderful way to connect to other people like me. It has definitely made my struggle easier to handle.

      1. Elly, everything you just wrote mirrors my own experience! (Except that I wasn’t diagnosed until recently so I didn’t really know it was OCD at the time.) As a kid I just remember that every few years something new and terrifying would seem to take over my inner world, latch on for a while, and then eventually, fade away, giving me a breath of fresh air…until the next time. I would get nervous when I felt too good for too long because it seemed like only a matter of time until I hit the next pothole, the next problem that would suddenly appear and take over my life.

        One thing I really wish I had known when I was a kid was that others had the same strange thoughts and fears that I did! I felt so alone and even when I did eventually break down and tell my parents what was going on in my head from time to time, I don’t think I ever told them everything. The worst thoughts and the most embarrassing compulsions I kept to myself. They seemed too terrible to share. Years later now, after finally being diagnosed and having passed through several different OCD episodes in my life, I look back and it is amazing for me to realize that the various things I feared were very common OCD targets and that the compulsions I performed were very common ways to try to neutralize the resulting anxiety. Sometimes in reading websites and books about OCD, especially right after I was diagnosed, I would suddenly see something and think, “Wow! That’s me! That description perfectly captures how I thought and acted at one point in my life!” It is an exciting but at the same time bittersweet realization. If only a comparable resource for kids had been available at that time to serve the purpose that blogging now serves!

        Thank you so much for your kind comments about my blog and the link! It means a lot to me to be able to share my thoughts (as neurotic as they sometimes are) and know that someone out there reads them. That said, I love reading your posts, as well, and I look forward to the interesting new types of entries you will produce as part of your blogging challenge!

        I told you I would eventually leave more extra long comments! 🙂 Guess I just can’t help myself when someone else describes something that seems to capture my feelings so well! Thank you. 🙂

        1. I know! I wish I had these kinds of resources when I was a kid. I felt so alone! I’m sure I knew other kids who had OCD but no one talked about it. It’s so easy to be isolated when you have OCD. There were so many weird and disturbing thoughts in my head that I didn’t dare tell anyone. I thought there was something really wrong with me, but it was just OCD. I wish I had known then what I know now. That’s why I’m blogging and why I’m glad to have found other OCD bloggers! The more we talk/write about it, the less secrecy is out there and then maybe someday the stigma will break down.

          That’s also why I was excited to write this post. We have so much in common. I haven’t found an OCD blog yet that didn’t have at least one post that resonated with me. I want people to see that there’s more to it than it “just being in our heads”. There’s so much more. We have similar fears and similar ways of dealing with those fears. It’s how our brains work and we’re not alone.

  3. Very useful post indeed. I’ve already read the post about indecisiveness. I am so indecisive, always have been. Drives my husband up the wall. Will read the others later.

  4. I’m loving your blog, and can complete relate with so much of what you’re saying. So often, growing up, I thought I was a complete wacko, but over the years, and with a lot of therapy, I’ve come a long, long way with most things. Some though? The obsession things? Are as bad as they ever were, but they aren’t obsessions that affect my life to a great deal, luckily.

    Terrific links- thank you!

    1. The obsessions are a lot tougher to deal with but my therapist told me that there is a way to treat obsessions. Apparently, if you record yourself repeating these obsessions over and over and listen to them frequently, then your obsessions will fade as well. If you listen to it enough, your mind will go from being terrified of the thought to bored with it over time. I haven’t tried it yet but I probably will in the future when I get to that point.

      1. I haven’t used this technique either (since most of my compulsions are physical and can be tackled in other ways), but I have certainly read about the use of loop recordings for exposing yourself repeatedly to an unwanted thought until your mind grows bored with it! In reading about OCD, I’ve come across this type of exposure quite a bit.

        Even though I haven’t done the recording thing, I have however, done a little bit of script-writing, where, on my or with the help of my therapist, I have written out some of my feared thoughts in order to directly expose myself to them. I found it helpful, though I haven’t really done it as intensively as some people do for certain kinds of obsessions! But from all that I have heard and read about it, it seems to be a very useful exposure technique in cases where exposing yourself directly to the feared consequence or situation is not always possible.

  5. Hi Elly. I’m visiting from SITS. You commented just above me in today’s forum so I’m here to pay you a visit. I’ve been intrigued by your photo and blog name each time I see you on Twitter or the forum but haven’t had a chance to see what you’re all about. (Yes, the challenge takes a lot of time and it’s kicking my butt!) So I’m glad it was my turn to visit you. I think you’re providing an excellent resource for others with OCD, so maybe they won’t suffer alone the way it sounds like you did for so many years. Kudos for you to laying it all out there. At times I think my 25-year-old daughter has OCD tendencies and I think I’ll direct her to read some of your posts. Good luck with all your challenges — including the blog challenge!

    1. Thanks for visiting! I have been so bad about keeping up with that myself. I think I’m going to spend most of Saturday catching up on blogs that are on my to-visit list.

      I hope your daughter visits! If she ever just wants to chat with someone about OCD, let her know she can email me at ocdjourneyblog@gmail.com. I’m also on twitter. Sometimes it just helps to talk to someone who won’t think you’re crazy.

  6. I’m visiting from SITS, doing the 31DBBB as well and am rather overwhelmed also. Thanks for writing about your experience with OCD. I am glad that there are more and more people talk about this. I don’t have OCD myself, more of depression, but I know people who do. I believe reading blogs like yours make them feel more validated and that they are not alone.

    Maria

    1. Thank you! That is my hope! I wish I had access to things like this blog when I was diagnosed 10 years ago. I had no idea how many people just like me there are. It makes a difference. I hope that this blog helps others realize that they are not alone. Feel free to pass a link on to your friends who have OCD!

      I used to struggle with depression. For a few years I had some kind of weird seasonal depression thing, but instead of it occurring in the winter, it was every summer for awhile. It’s not a fun thing to deal with! I don’t wish depression or OCD on anyone.

      1. Definitely. I will pass your blog to them.

        Hey, you’re the first person whom I know that are/were like me, feel depressed during Summer! Strange isn’t it? And harder to get understanding as well, coz most people think of Winter, dark, dark mood. But Summer?? 🙂

        Maria

        1. Weird! I hadn’t ever met anyone like that either. Everyone always thought I was making it up because who would be weird enough to be depressed in the summer? Well I hope you’re doing ok this summer!

          1. Hey Elly, I saw this an couldn’t help but comment! Summer is actually my LEAST favorite season of the year, and I am usually happier in the fall/winter. My mom also gets depressed during the summer! For her and for me, I think it has to do with the overwhelming and oppressive heat of that time of the year where I am from. I always hated it, too, because I felt like the excessive heat and scorching sun just killed everything…the grass, plants, etc. Since I have moved from where I grew up though, I have become less averse to sunlight and summer :). The weather is much nicer here and more sun doesn’t necessarily equal more excessive heat and death!

  7. Hi, it’s me again from around and around. Please continue linking OCD blogs because I am having a hard time finding good ones. When I do Google searched I end up with junk or sites that are not blogs. Thanks.

    1. I will be doing another link post soon. I’m working on finding more good posts from the blogs I follow. You can also check out my blogroll in the sidebar on the left side of the page.

  8. I’m still on Day 1. Figure I’ll row at my own pace, maybe I’ll get to the end of it in 2012. I didn’t realize there were other blogs about OCD in on the SITS challenge. I have an ocd blog, but put a bit of everything in there too. Will subscribe to yours.

    1. I’m so excited to find that there is another OCD blogger doing the challenge! I hadn’t seen any others. Have you? I will check out your blog tomorrow when I’m not half asleep!

Leave a Reply

