International OCD Foundation

I know I have recommended that a few of you visit the International OCD Foundation’s website, but I’d like to take the opportunity today to highlight this awesome organization.

So what is the International OCD Foundation (IOCDF)?

Founded by a group of people with OCD in 1986, the International OCD Foundation (IOCDF) is an international not-for-profit organization made up of people with Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (OCD) and related disorders, as well as their families, friends, professionals and others. The mission and goals of the IOCDF are to:

* Educate the public and professionals about OCD in order to raise awareness and improve the quality of treatment provided;
* Support research into the cause of, and effective treatments for, OCD and related disorders;
* Improve access to resources for those with OCD and their families;
* Advocate and lobby for the OCD community. (from IOCDF)

Their site has lots of great information about OCD, like a definition that is easily understandable and not full of scientific jargon, an overview of common obsessions and compulsions, explanation of causes and treatment (to name a few).

My favorite part of the site is their Find Help page.  It includes a treatment provider database, which is how I found my therapist.  A year ago, I started looking for a therapist who specialized in OCD, but had a hard time finding one.  This database is amazing, because it’s full of doctors whose expertise is OCD.  They also have information about intensive treatment programs.

Another area of interest for you OCDers will be the book page, which is a long list of recommended books about OCD.  If I could afford it (and had the time to read them), I’d probably buy every book on this list, because I can’t seem to get enough when it comes to learning about OCD.  I guess you could say I’m obsessed with it.

If you’re a doer, you’ll want to get involved by joining, donating and volunteering (among other things)!

These are just a few of the highlights.  There is so much more to see on the IOCDF site.  If you have OCD or know someone with OCD, the IOCDF can be an amazing resource!

So please take a few minutes to visit the International OCD Foundation’s site and look around a bit.  Leave me a comment with anything interesting or exciting you find!  Of if you have been to their site before, how has it helped you in the past?

http://www.ocfoundation.org
6 thoughts on “International OCD Foundation

  1. I just have to say that I have always loved their site! While I did not find my therapist through this page, I have devoured much of the information they have to offer since I discovered their site a bit less than a year ago now.

    I also think the treatment provider database is a wonderful tool for anyone looking for help with OCD! I think all mental health providers should know about this page, so that if someone comes to them who has OCD and they are not equipped to treat it, they can refer the client to this site for help in finding a good referral. I guess I am particularly passionate about this issue because when I initially sought treatment for my OCD a year ago, I found it extremely difficult to find the help I needed and (dare I say it) the ineptitude of the first professional I saw in efficiently diagnosing my condition and giving me an appropriate referral when I was really in crisis mode and desperate for help.

    I don’t think it is at all uncommon for people with OCD to have a hard time in finding the right treatment, and it is even harder and more disheartening to hear someone who is in the mental health field admit that he, too, is unsure where to send you. I certainly believe that more people, especially mental health professionals, should know about the IOCDF page and in particular, the treatment provider database. I don’t think there is any excuse for individuals working in the mental health community to NOT consult this site or a similar resource when treating clients who desperately need help. In fact, I am tempted to email the guy who didn’t know where to send me a quick email to tell him about this page and the resources it has to offer. I feel that he should have known about or at least come across this site had he really searched thoroughly to find me help. I know I can’t be angry at him or blame him, but I really do think that mental health professionals should be better educated so that they can at least recognize disorders and send people in the right direction for help! I don’t want anyone else with OCD to come into his office and not receive the treatment they need or be sent to someone who also knows nothing of OCD because he doesn’t know that there are better options and ways to search out there!!

    1. I wish I had known about the IOCDF when I was diagnosed 10 years ago! Their database would have saved me years of frustration. The first counselor I saw didn’t know anything about OCD and just pretty much tried to use talk therapy to fix me. Obviously that didn’t work. I gave up on therapy completely for 10 years before finally learning that there were better treatment options out there.

  2. Glad I stopped by from Day 23 of the 31DBBB Challenge to visit your blog. I didn’t know about the foundation so that is a great first step. Secondly, I have book marked it and will follow up to register and support them.
    Have a great day!
    Eliz

Leave a Reply

