Acknowledgement

I planned to write a post today about how difficult it can be to travel when you have OCD, but I spent the day traveling and I’m worn out.  So expect that post sometime in the next day or two.

Instead, I’d like to share a great post I read today from No Points for Style about dealing with special needs and the need to be heard.  Adrienne (the writer) has a son with special needs and in this post, she writes about how difficult it was when she didn’t feel heard.  She also discusses how things changed once she was heard and why that is important.

I found this to be significant to what I write about, because I feel the same way with OCD (and I believe it’s the same for most people with mental illnesses).  Society doesn’t recognize our illnesses as serious or real as other illnesses.  So we are expected to keep our mouths shut on the issue and pretend like everything is fine.  We have shrinks with whom to talk, so why talk to other people about our problems, right?  It’s just easier to stay quiet.  We don’t want to bother people with our neuroses.

Except that doesn’t do us any good.  Staying quiet only keeps up isolated, feeling along.  It also keeps everyone else from understanding mental illness.

We need to be heard, both for our sake and for your sake.  So please, please listen.

12 thoughts on “Acknowledgement

  1. I hope I will always listen when someone else needs to be heard.

    I refuse to be silent any more. I speak so that others will know they are not alone. So that they will feel comfortable speaking when they are ready. To ease the path if I can.

    Keep talking.

    1. That’s why I love your blog so much! You write about things that most people aren’t even comfortable thinking about. You are so honest about the difficult things and it’s refreshing. I know it has to be difficult, but I’m glad you are doing it! I’m sure others who are dealing with depression have found your blog and have found comfort in the fact that they are not alone.

  2. I really like how you write about your OCD.You are right, people need to be heard and people need to listen. You can solve anything is things are kept within

    1. Thank you!!

      That is very true! I tried for 10 years to just deal with OCD on my own, within myself. I tried to not talk about it, not let anyone know, to just make it go away by sheer will. Clearly, that didn’t work! I have made much more progress now that I’m talking about it and am accountable to lots of people.

  3. Thanks for the shout-out, my dear.

    I plan to keep talking, nagging, cajoling, encouraging, yelling, ranting, lecturing, nudging, and whatever else seems appropriate until I die or until mental illness are acknowledged as equivalent to other illnesses. I’ll probably die first, but I know without doubt that I’m right about this.

    Any part of us can become ill, mind/brain included. Keep talking because the more we do that, collectively? The sooner people will be forced to hear us.

    1. I couldn’t agree more! That’s why I started this blog. I know the more voices there are, the more progress we can collectively make in getting society to acknowledge us. If enough of us keep screaming about it, eventually people are bound to hear something.

  4. I agree- there are very few things more difficult than the feelings of lonliness and isolation. I find that these feelings often increase the intensity of my own mental illness symptoms. I don’t expect everyone to understand, but it makes a world of difference if they try. I love my husband for this more than he could know.

    1. Yes! I feel stronger and more capable of fighting back when those around me at least try to understand my struggle rather than belittle it. My brother is the only person in my family who really hasn’t shown any interest in understanding and that has been really hard. He just thinks I’m being ridiculous. It would make things easier if he at least tried, but I don’t see him much so it doesn’t mess with my head as much as it used to.

  5. So many mental health issues are matters of degree. I feel anxiety when I can’t wash my hands, but it’s never been a debilitating anxiety. I just get constantly chapped hands out of the deal. Personally, I think taking a job anywhere near kids was remarkably brave. My husband calls day cares petri dishes 😉

    All the best.

    I also live among the many bricks of the metroplex.

    1. When I took the job, it required bravery. By the end, it didn’t. Just like everything else I am afraid of and have exposed myself to, I habituate and what was once scary is now nothing. It seems scary but you get used to it, thankfully! Your husband is definitely right in calling them petri dishes. Kids that age have the WORST hygiene! They truly suck at washing their hands and like to touch as much as possible before even attempting to wash them. So gross!

Leave a Reply

