Doubling the Dosage

I saw my therapist on Saturday.  Since the side effects from Prozac haven’t been terrible, she said I should double the dosage and go up to 20 mg.  I was hesitant, but agreed to try.

I have been blaming my heightened OCD on Prozac, but my therapist doesn’t think that’s fair.  I forgot that it always gets worse when I’m in school, and I started two weeks ago, so of course my OCD would be worse.

So yesterday I started taking 20 mg, which was stupid because I slept in yesterday and didn’t take it until mid-morning.  I was awake a lot more than I was asleep last night.  Miserable.  This morning, I took it at 7:30, so hopefully I’ll sleep tonight.  If not, I’m going back down to 10 mg. tomorrow.  I’m going to have to up my dosage slowly if it’s going to destroy my sleep each time.  I need decent sleep to function at work and in school.

So it’s frustrating, but I’m hoping that it will normalize soon.

Also, I have to get back to doing ERP homework, regardless of how little I want to do it.  I keep waiting for the Prozac to make me want to do it, but I don’t think that’s going to happen.  I need to motivate myself, but that’s tough.  If I don’t, though, then I’m just wasting time and money.

3 thoughts on “Doubling the Dosage

  1. Hi, Elly! I just wanted to thank you for your comments on my blog. It’s been a while since I checked them, but I just posted again, and was really touched that there were others who understood where I was coming from.
    Your post also reminded me that I really need to find a new doctor to where I live now– so, thank you!

Leave a Reply

