Maybe It’s the Meds

Today was just as terrible as yesterday.  I started feeling depressed, but I think I know why.  I think it’s Prozac coupled with hormones that is messing me up so bad.  I’m going to try to get an appointment with my doctor soon and see what she thinks.  I hope that’s what is going on because that would mean that it will go away in another day or two.  On the flip side of that, though, it could also mean that I get to have this much fun every month.  If that is the case, then I will not be taking this much longer.

We’ll see.  I’m not giving up on Prozac just yet, but I’m leaning more and more in that direction.  It’s supposed to lessen my anxiety, not increase it.  It seems like every week there’s something new to mess with my head.

Even if it’s not the Prozac, saying it’s the Prozac is helping me not lose it.  I am more rational when I can look at the crazy emotions I’m feeling and blame them on my medication.

Oh and the sweating thing still isn’t completely gone.  Much less than at first, but still enough to be super annoying.

What do you think?  Any of you females who have taken Prozac have a similar experience with Prozac and hormones?

6 thoughts on “Maybe It’s the Meds

  1. I am so sorry it’s all still such a mess.

    I have severe PMDD so hormones rule my life. I have no idea whether a new med will work for me for real until I’ve been on it for over a month, better yet, two. I usually know within a couple of weeks if it’s going to be bad. But I always have to see how it plays out through my cycle before I know I’ll be able to continue it.

    It’s a nasty, ridiculous mess and I hate it. I hate that you are dealing with it, too. I hate that mental illness is still so misunderstood and it is so freaking difficult to find something to make me feel better.

    It sucks. It should get more research attention. There are more answers out there somewhere, they just need to be found.

    Ugh. Sorry. I guess I’m feeling a little stressed and needed to rant. I hope things get better for you soon.

    1. It’s nice knowing someone understands the shit storm in my head. I think I’m going to give this a full two months before making a decision. That means waiting two more weeks. I’m so torn. I so badly want something to work, to help me, but I am also really sick of medications that either don’t work or make things worse.

      Never apologize for ranting on here. That’s what this blog is for. Sometimes it’s nice just to type it all out and send it out to anyone who might be reading.

      Sometimes, I wish I were gifted in math and science instead of in literature and philosophy. I would go into neuroscience and devote my time to finding a way to effectively treat people like us. I wish someone would figure it out. It’s frustrating that all we can really treat are symptoms, not the cause.

  2. I just came across your blog. I’m in bed with iphone trying to switch off neurotic thoughts. It’s 4am and can’t seem to go back to sleep. Medication i tried in the past just made me more anxious.

    1. I’m sorry for the delayed reply. I have a tendency to take my ipod touch to bed with me to try to distract me from my thoughts. If I read a book on it, then that helps, but playing games and surfing the web only make it harder to sleep.

      What medications have you tried? This is the fifth SSRI I have tried and each one has left me more and more disappointed. I’m not sure how much longer I’m going to stick with this one.

      Are you in therapy?

  3. Hi
    Yes, I also take my iPod touch (not iPhone – don’t know why I wrote iPhone) and I have a pile of books nearby AND Kindle from Amazon in case I don’t have enough books. To be honest I don’t go read as much as it sounds but I need to know the books are there.
    The last time I took medication I was in my early 20’s, so that was over 10 years ago. I can’t remember their names but I know I tried a few. Some would make me unbelievably anxious (I got to the point where I couldn’t, say, go into shops and queue up as that would make me panic). Others would make me wake in the middle of the night in sheer panic or give me horrific nightmares.
    So, I am done with meds. I kind of turned to guided meditation and other techniques (none of which I can claim to use regularly).
    I am not in therapy. I also tried but it looks like I have so many issues (most of which created by my mind and not life as such – I have my problems like everyone else but nothing major) that therapists don’t seem to get me as a whole and just try to fix specific areas of my life.
    I also have phases when I am better and other times worse. Now I am worse.

    1. Therapy would definitely be difficult with overlapping issues. As difficult as therapy is, I’m glad that OCD is my main problem and that I can focus on it and deal with other issues later.

      This is the fifth SSRI I have tried. I had really awful experiences with the others. I think this might be the last one I try. If this doesn’t work, I don’t know if I have it in me to try any more. It’s so exhausting, so frustrating. I don’t blame you for being done with meds. Sometimes the side effects are way worse than the good effects. It sounds like, in your case, there weren’t any good effects, and that’s just a waste of your time.

      I’m sorry that you are worse. I have had that, too. I tend to be better when I’m not in school, which isn’t very often. School just really increases my levels of stress and anxiety. I’m really looking forward to graduating in May and see what happens with OCD with all that stress gone.

Leave a Reply

